Election 2019

APPI 2019 Council Election


For the first time, APPI is offering the choice to vote for Councillors via postal ballot OR electronic ballot.  Information on how to vote via postal ballot has been mailed to all members eligible to vote on March 25, 2019.  Please note that members may not vote via postal ballot AND electronic ballot.  Only the first vote submitted will be counted. The deadline for receipt of your postal ballot or electronic ballot is April 22, 2019.  Failure to abide by the voting instructions will result in a spoiled ballot and will not be counted.

If you have are a regulated member and did not receive a hard copy or an email with the ballot information, please contact the APPI office at [email protected].

APPI Nominating Committee Report

The 2019 Nominating Committee gratefully recognizes Martin Frigo, Aaron Aubin and Glinis Buffalo, whose APPI Council term will end at the Annual General Meeting to be held in Calgary on April 26, 2019.

Continuing members of Council for the 2019 - 2020 year will be as follows:

Name  Position Member Status Location Sector
Mac Hickley President RPP Calgary Public
Erin O'Neill Past President RPP Edmonton Public
Kate van Fraassen Councillor RPP Calgary Public
Bernice Gonzalez Councillor RPP Kitscoty Public
Chelsea Whitty Councillor RPP Edmonton Private
Gary Wilson Councillor RPP Calgary Private
Marilyn Hooper Councillor Public Member Edmonton Private


The Nominating Committee is pleased to report that the following regulated members in good standing were either recruited by the committee or nominated independently. As the number of nominees for Council exceeds the number of available positions, an election will be held.
In accordance with APPI's Bylaws, we hereby appoint Jamal Ramjohn, RPP, as Returning Officer.

For the first time, APPI will offer members the choice to vote for Councillors via postal ballot or electronic ballot, but only the first vote submitted will be counted. Both the postal and electronic ballots will be issued on or before March 25, 2019. Please click on each nominee's name to review the platforms. 

Name Position Member Status Location Sector
Glinis Buffalo Councillor RPP Edmonton Public
Chris Down Councillor RPP Edmonton Public
Martino Verheghe Councillor RPP Edson Public
Amanda-Brea Watson Councillor RPP Yellowknife Private
Stephen Yu Councillor Candidate Edmonton Private


Respectfully submitted,

APPI Nominating Committee

Tammy Henry, RPP      Shawn Bravender, RPP           Gary Buchanan, RPP
Committee Chair


Click here for the report.

Councillor Commitment and Expectations:

  • APPI Council meets 5 – 7 times at various locations within the APPI jurisdiction per Council term and a minimum attendance of 75% is expected.
  • Travel and accommodation expenses are paid by APPI and typically arranged by the APPI office.
  • The success of APPI relies on active participation and leadership by all members of APPI Council.

APPI Bylaws and the APPI Professional Code of Practice in the Professional Planner Regulation