Awards and Recognition

Volunteer Recognition Program

APPI is a professional organization that is largely run by volunteers. APPI's Volunteer Recognition Program recognizes individual dedication and contributions to APPI and the planning profession more generally.

The winners were recognized at the 2020 APPI Volunteer Awards and Appreciation Celebration virtually on November 26, 2020.
Click here to view the announcement for all of the awards.

2020 Recipients

Volunteer of the Year Award

This award recognizes a significant contribution made in the previous year. This award is open to any member regulated or non-regulated. Nominees must have made an outstanding contribution to the Institute serving on an APPI Committee or initiative, or alternatively representing APPI on a specific project or initiative at the national level.

Oliver Green, RPP Click here

Exceptional Mentor Award

Have you have recently completed or are you in the midst of completing the RPP certification process and want to recognize and celebrate the contribution of your mentor in supporting your professional development and career?  Please consider nominating a RPP member or member(s) who have gone above and beyond in their support of your journey through the certification process in any capacity.

Thom Mahler, RPP Click here

Council Service Awards

Erin O'Neill, RPP

Bernice Gonzalez, RPP

Kate van Fraassen, RPP

Gary Willson, RPP